Famous Quilter Comes for Trunk Show and Class

6a00d83451c80d69e2013486adee57970c

Books authored by Barbara Cline

My Blue Ridge-based guild, Pieceful Mountain Quilt Guild, had Barbara Cline come out Friday night from her home in Harrisburg, Virginia,  for a trunk show and lecture. You can bet when they asked for someone to help hold up quilts that I leaped over chairs to get to the stage. To see her work close up and TOUCH IT (She invited everyone to touch her quilts later on) was so great.

729c

Barbara’s table runner model for the class I took.

Saturday, I took a class using her overlay technique to create color dimension in a small table runner. I learned a few new techniques and learned how to fusefabric to fabric using two sided- fusible web. I think I might be over my fear of it. We used communal irons so some of my pretty solid turquoise petals have blackened globs of someone else’s mishap with the wrong side of the fusible. It is okay, though, I think I will organize my blocks so the overlay covers the gunk.

Leave a Reply

