Sometimes I watch “TV”

We don’t get a TV signal, so we do not have an up-to-date television. Our television weighs about 300 lbs. The speakers are whimsical. It does not know what Blue-Ray means. BUT. It connects willingly to our VCR/VHS/DVD player so I can see favorite DVDs and the occasional VHS. AND we have a ROKU, which allows us to stream Netflix and isn’t that what TV really is these days, anyway? No? Guess I forgot HULU+ because I don’t have that yet. When we get a better TV, I will explore HULU+. ANYway…

MV5BMTczNjU5MzkyMF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMTkxMDI4OA@@._V1_SY317_CR51,0,214,317_This is what we have been watching. We are halfway through the issues. At first, I had a hard time with the narrator’s cadence and tone. Mark Cousins sounds remarkably like Michael Smiley ( born in 1963 in Belfast, Northern Ireland) so at least I had a frame of reference. Indeed, Mark Cousins IS from Northern Ireland, also. I can understand the Edinburgh brogue and some of the Irish accents, but the Glaswegians and the Northern Irish give me pause. That is to say, it takes me a lot longer to find my place in the dance. I truly believe that a Celtic based language is a dance. It involves music as well as rhythm. The cadences are easy for me but the song…ah, the song.

MV5BOTA3MzY0MTk4N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzI5OTM0OA@@._V1_SX214_CR0,0,214,317_

Actor, Michael Smiley

Some of the reviewers of THE STORY OF FILM were so confounded by  Mark Cousins’ narration and so angry with their lack of ease in understanding the message that they could not hear the meaning.  Because of their own intolerance and ignorance, they would not know. Their loss.

ANYONE who has ever enjoyed a movie will benefit from seeing this series.  Start from the beginning. Cousins makes sure you understand how global the cultural influences really are. When our world was much smaller, film artists were influencing each other across miles and miles. Watch one a week or whatever it takes, but see them all.

Anton: Stagecoach. John Wayne. Yup.

Leave a Reply

