And I Bought some Patriotic Colors

I saw this quilt made up at the March 2014 meeting of The Misty Mountain Quilter’s Guild. I was instantly in love and knew I would have to make one. The maker (sorry, I can’t remember her name, the quilt had my full attention) said it was in the recent Fons and Porter Love of Quilting Magazine so I hopped right out there and bought my copy.

FlatGoBig_250Isn’t it grand? It is a twin size. Fons and Porter publish quilts that satisfy the requirements for Quilts of Valor. IMG_1368 -- 04. Final Comp, 1200x900 - Copy

If you are a follower from before I began using WordPress, you may remember THIS post and the Rapid Fire Hunter’s Star quilt (above)  I made for Quilts of Valor.

DSC04881

I still have this one, above, mostly pieced but in need of a top and bottom  border, some measuring, then an additional border. It is made up of blocks from the QOV group at Misty Mountain, so I will probably go to one of the sew-ins there and see what else they have that can be added.

In the mean time, I bought (in Cumming Saturday) These gorgeous fabrics for the quilt from the magazine.

DSC07835Thanks to my Quilty Friend (Thelma to my Louise–or is it the other way around?) I found the perfect blues, a lovely shirting with red rocket looking design, and the right solid red. You would NOT believe how difficult it was to choose the right red. Probably because I chose that particular gold. Quilty Friend knows me and orange. I am sure the gold was a bit too bright for her sensibilities, but the dark blue she found for me just sings when they are together. The red is brighter than she might have chosen, but I wanted the gold and crimson for a particular reason. I hope to begin cutting it out at the beginning of May.

Leave a Reply

