Rulers Rule

I recently bought the Hunter’s Star ruler by Deb Tucker.  You have seen my Hunter’s Star quilt. Well, I had the luck to go to Gainesville last Thursday, armed with all kinds of coupons for Joa-ann’s. I knew they carried few basic rulers, so I used up those coupons. I added Darlene Zimmerman and Joy Hoffman’s Tri-Recs ruler and companion angle. I had hoped to get a much larger 60 degree angle, but this will do to start.SONY DSCIt will make my double wedding ring retreat quilt easier. Of course, I am not doing anything typical. If so, I might have bought the melons and ogee rulers.  A normal double wedding ring looks something like this:

Scarlett's Double Wedding Ring Pattern

Scarlett’s Double Wedding Ring Pattern

You can get this pattern from Scarlett Rose on Craftsy. Let’s just say mine is going to be a little different and you will have to wait and see.

Actually, I will give you a little more information. I plan to use the pickle dish style for the rings. There are at least two pickle dish styles.

From Molly Flanders Makerie

From Molly Flanders Makerie

This is one style, made by Molly Flanders who posted about it HERE.  The pattern is from Kathy Doughty and Sarah Fielke’s Material Obsession 2 book, which you can see HERE. Until I planned my own pickle dish, I did not know this style was also PICKLE DISH. I REALLY like the way Molly put her colors together. I see one in my future..

But.

The one I planned is more like this:

1E-3D-1580-234-MichiganMSUMuseum-a0c1j4-a_8092

Ruby Pickle Dish owned by Connie Gray

You can see the entire record of Ruby Pickle Dish HERE at the Quilt Index.

Both quilts use pieced arcs. In fact, all three–wedding ring AND pickle dishes have pieced arcs. I guess quilters did not think simple curves to be challenging enough. I am hoping to master the difficult parts by using foundation piecing. My teacher for this class, Karen Izor, says she has some other tricks that will make the quilt easier. Let’s hope…

Leave a Reply

